Army Skydivers Excel In UK’s 18th Armed Forces Parachute Championship

September 12, 2017

Sri Lanka Army skydivers competing in the 18th Armed Forces Parachute Championships - United Kingdom (AFPC-UK) won 3 Gold medals and showcased their excellent performances at the Drop Zone of the British Army Parachute Association (APA), Netheravon, United Kingdom during 14-28 Aug 2017. The championships were open to both serving and reserve personnel in the British Armed Forces and Cadets. Civil and international military teams were qualified to enter the open category in all events of the parachute championship.

More than 300 competitors belonging to different regiments including, Red Devils (UK military parachute team), Royal Navy and Royal Air Force took part in the competition. US Army’s Golden Knights and Sri Lanka Army team were the participating foreign teams. The eight man Sri Lankan Army team was represented by 4 Officers and 4 Other Ranks of the Commando Regiment (CR) and the Special Force Regiment (SF).

Army parachutists won Gold medals in a Accuracy team event in open category, Wingsuit Artistic (2 way) Rookie (beginner) category and 2 Way Rotation and Team Award (Canopy Formation). After the tournaments, Sri Lanka Army Team was invited to take part in a parachute display during the closing ceremony along with Red Devils, Golden Knights and other professional display teams of the UK.

Sri Lanka Army team excelled in the 5 way stack (Canopy Formation), which was highly appreciated by the Chief Guest, distinguished invitees and all officials who were present at the ceremony. This was the first time Sri Lanka Army skydiving display team performed on a foreign soil.

Here follows the three disciplines which won Gold Medals for the Sri Lanka Army;

Accuracy Landing Event

Lieutenant Colonel V.M.N Hettiarachchi (CR)

Major U.A Thilakasiri (SF)

Major R.H.J.P Warnapura (SF)

Staff Sergeant W.A Anil (SF)

Sergeant R.D.P Gunawardana (SF)

Corporal A.K Basnayake (CR)

Wingsuit Artistic

Lieutenant Colonel S.P Wickramasekara (CR)

Warrant Officer II K.P.N Dhammika (CR)

Canopy Formation - 2 Way Rotation

Lieutenant Colonel S.P Wickramasekara (CR)

Corporal A.K Basnayake (CR)

Lieutenant Colonel V.M.N Hettiarachchi (CR)