Army Blind Cricketers Win ‘Dilmah’ Trophy

Blind Cricket players of the Army carried away the ‘Dilmah’ Trophy in the National Blind cricket championship beating their rivals in Moneragala Shakthi cricket team by one wicket. Finals were held at the Wesley College ground throughout Saturday (19).

The National Blind Cricket Tournament was competed by 12 cricket clubs across the country and the SL Army team and the Moneragala Shakthi team entered the final tussle after facing close encounters. Each team in the tournament was provided 40 overs but in the finals it had to be restricted to 37 overs due to inclement weather conditions.

In the finals Moneragala Shakthi team scored 215 runs in 37 overs and Army players in reply collected 216 runs for 9 wickets and emerged champions after a close encounter. Mr Merril J Fernando, Chairman, ‘Dilmah’ Company watched the finals as the Chief Guest for the occasion.