Dengue On Rise in Seven Districts of Sri Lanka


Health authorities have reported a significant rise in dengue cases across seven districts in Sri Lanka. The affected districts include Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Jaffna, Galle, Kandy, and Kurunegala.

Dr. Lahiru Kodithuwakku from the National Dengue Control Unit has urged the public to maintain cleanliness in their surroundings to help curb the spread of the disease.

So far this year, Sri Lanka has recorded 26,084 dengue cases, with the Western Province reporting the highest number of infections at 9,558. The outbreak has also resulted in nine fatalities.