High Posts Committee Greenlights Key Diplomatic Appointments: Former Foreign Minister Confirmed As High Commissioner to UK

November 17, 2023

The Committee on High Posts gave its nod to a series of crucial diplomatic appointments, ushering in experienced figures to represent Sri Lanka on the global stage.

Former Foreign Minister Rohitha Bogollagama, who previously served as the Cabinet Minister of Foreign Affairs, secured approval as the High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Bogollagama's extensive experience in diplomatic and governmental roles positions him as a seasoned envoy for Sri Lanka in the UK.

The committee also endorsed several other appointments, emphasizing the strategic importance of these roles in fostering diplomatic relations:

  • Mrs. K.D. Seneviratne: High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to India
  • Mr. D.D.M.S.B Dissanayake: High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to the Republic of Singapore
  • Mr. W.K.C. Weerasena: Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the Kingdom of Belgium and the European Union

Additionally, key appointments within national administrative and corporate spheres were confirmed:

  • Mr. K.D.N.R. Asoka: Secretary to the Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils, and Local Government
  • Dr. B.K.J. K Perera: Chairman of Ceylon Fertilizer Company Ltd.

The meeting, held on Wednesday (Nov.15) and presided over by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, included the participation of Ministers Nimal Siripala de Silva and Vidura Wickramanayake, along with MPs John Seneviratne, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Rishad Bathiudeen, and Udaya Gammanpila.