Intense Competition Between SLPP Bigwigs And SJB Breakaway MPs Over Ministerial Portfolios

Government sources have revealed that a competition has intensified between members of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna and the Samagi Jana Balawega for the ten remaining ministerial positions in the upcoming cabinet reshuffle.

According to the twentieth constitutional amendment, the cabinet is made up of thirty members, with twenty already appointed. The reshuffle presents an opportunity to appoint ten new ministers, and a fierce competition for these positions has ensued.

Among the proposed candidates for ministerial posts are eight MPs, including Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Johnston Fernando, CB Ratnayake, Janaka Bandara Thennakoon, and Wimalaweera Dissanayake. However, there are also several MPs from the Samagi Jana Balawega who are reportedly seeking to join the government and secure ministerial positions, including Rajitha Senaratne. Senaratne has expressed his interest in the Health Minister position, but it remains unclear if the current Minister of Health, Rambukwella, is in agreement.

Political sources have suggested that a group of MPs, including senior members of the Samagi Jana Balawega, are prepared to join the government. The upcoming reshuffle is expected to have a significant impact on Sri Lanka's political landscape, and the competition for ministerial positions underscores the high stakes involved.